Large on Holiday!!!!

On this fine Friday afternoon I thought that I would share with you something that I thought was quite funny!  Well to be honest I am listening to the ‘Mika’ Album and its one song in particular that has reminded me of this.

I was on a short break to a European City and after doing a few days of sightseeing decided that I would go round the shops and do a bit of retal theapy. 

Now I’m not a small lady – but I sure aint a big lady either.  So I pick up a few things as I am in one of those shops that remind me of Hennes, you know the ones where you see something you like on one rail and then have to hunt for ages to find where it stays to find ‘your size’. 

Anyway as I said I picked up a few things and had taken my usual size and the one above as I could see that most of the people could turn sideways and disappear in this city…..!!  [NOTE: they had the usual european sizes and then small, medium, large and then X-Large]

So I eventually get a cubicle and try on a few tops and think to myself “….I couldnt have put that much weight on after 3 days – could I…??”…..I Came to the last item which was a really nice Black Dress that would go nice with a pair of wedges and leggings.  So I try on my ‘regular’ size and it just about goes over my top half, and not to be defeted I decide to try on the ‘X-Large’……Well it fits and do the usual twirls in the mirror and dont let the fact that the X-Large fits me perfect. 

So the person I’m with can hear the excitement in my voice about the dress looking good and ask’s me to come out and give a twirl……as soon as I step out I hear Mika singing “Big Girl – You are Beautifiul”.  At that point we both burst out in stitches and I decide to lap up the moment and do a mini catwalk show along to said song…..

So for those of you that are not familiar to the lyrics here they are!!! 

I Love this song

Donohoe

xxx 

“Big girl you are beautiful

Walks in to the room
Feels like a big balloon
I said, “Hey girl, you are beautiful”
Diet Coke and a pizza please
Diet Coke I’m on my knees
Screaming, “Big girl you are beautiful”

You take your skinny girl
I feel like I’m gonna die
Coz a real woman needs a real man here’s why
You take your girl and multiply about four
Now a whole lot of woman needs a whole lot more

[chorus:]
Get yourself to the butterfly lounge
Find yourself a big lady
Big boy come on around
And they’ll be calling you baby
No need to fantasize
Since the words are my phrases

A watering hole the with girls around
And curves in all the right places
Big girls you are beautiful
Big girls you are beautiful
Big girls you are beautiful
Big girls you are beautiful

Walks in to the room
Feels like a big balloon
I said, “Hey girl, you are beautiful”
Diet coke and a pizza please
Diet coke I’m on my knees
Screaming, “Big girl you are beautiful”

You take your girl and multiply about four
Now a whole lot of woman needs a whole lot more

[chorus x4]

Big girl you are beautiful

Leave a comment

Filed under General Rants

Leave a Reply

